watermark logo

0 Views· 22/08/23

Rick Steves' Europe: A Symphonic Journey: England


Pomp and Circumstance March, op. 39, No.1 in D Major (1901) by Edward Elgar (1857-1934)
This clip of "Pomp and Circumstance March, op. 39, No.1 in D Major" from the one-hour special "Rick Steves' Europe: A Symphonic Journey," captures the grandeur and confidence of the first global superpower — Britain. At the end of the 19th century, Queen Victoria ruled nearly a quarter of the planet. Her realm was, famously, the empire "upon which the sun never set."

In "Rick Steves' Europe: A Symphonic Journey" Rick teams up with the Cascade Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Michael Miropolsky, on a musical tour that begins in the USA, then touches down in seven different European countries. The result is a performance that combines Europe's most stirring Romantic-era anthems with beautiful high-definition cinematography and Rick's insights into European history.

For more information on the Rick Steves' Europe TV series — including episode descriptions, scripts, participating stations, travel information on destinations and more — visit http://www.ricksteves.com. #symphony #classicalmusic #edwardelgar

Show more

Up next